Skip to content

The Art of Hair Maintenance

October 23, 2012

I think we can all agree that keeping your hair looking marvelous is an art, not a science.  We each have our own unique ways of keeping our tresses the way we like them, our own product cocktails for special occasions and a haircare routine for the everyday.  While all of us at Avanti like to espouse hair wisdom to our clients, we also love hearing about the wild and weird ways in which clients maintain their look at home.

Recently, I read an article on Into The Gloss revealing the secrets French models use in keeping their hair ever so je ne sais quoi (French girls always have it so right).  Some of them admit to washing their hair only once a week, while others reveal that theynever- never– brush their hair and instead let it fall and wave naturally.  Here’s an excerpt:

Constance: Yeah, like the girls will ask me, ‘Do you have a brush in your bag?’ And I’m like, ‘No, why would I have a brush?’ [Laughs] I do have a comb to do a part, that’s it. Just a straight, little comb.

Alana: I let my part fall wherever it feels like. [Laughs] ‘Cause I have so much hair, if I brush it, it gets so wide at the bottom… and I just look like a big triangle. I just comb it in the shower, with a wide-tooth comb.

So, friends, what against-the-grain advice do you have for taking care of your hair?  Are there any secrets you employ, or do you follow your stylist’s advice and do exactly as they say?  We’re ever so curious, so please, share away in the comments!

photo via

Leave a Reply

