Skip to content

Our Favorites at the Emmys

September 24, 2012

Oh how we love it when celebrities parade down a red carpet in fabulous gowns and let us judge them!  Last night, the fashion parade at the 64th Primetime Emmy Awards gave us lots to look.  Some looks made us weep with genuine sadness, but others made us clap our hands in delight.   Here’s a peek at some of our favorite looks of the evening.  Hit it, ladybirds!

Ginnifer Goodwin likes to push her sartorial limits and, though she sometimes misses the mark, I’ve always greatly admired her for trying new shapes and playing with her cropped brown hair.  Last night she dazzled in a Monique Lhuillier gown and matching Louboutins.  I loved that she smoothed down her short hair for a sleek polished look.  The only criticism I have is that I’d have advised a bolder lip color.  Other than that, she looks fantastic!

Mad Men‘s Jessica Pare stepped out in a custom-made Jason Wu gown (if only we could all be so lucky, amirite?) and looked to be channeling Hollywood sirens of yesteryear in all the right ways.  Her classic, simple styling, beautifully draped gown, red lip and pinned up hair took my breath away and pairing that 3-carat emerald ring with the otherwise black and white look was a stroke of genius.  It’ll be days before I get the image of that ring out of my mind!

Jane Levy‘s cobalt blue Pamella Roland gown was striking.  This color looks great on her and I love the makeup and hair, too.  She’s both youthful and ladylike but she needed some jewelry on her wrists and fingers, I think.

From head to toe (or, rather, from head to end of the gown…), Kelly Osbourne looked radiant!  I love this lavender Zac Posen gown, her lavender grey hair looked beautiful, and she seemed to be having a great time posing her way down the red carpet- and as you know, a smile is always the best accessory!

I know she’s getting a lot of flak for this dress, but I thought Leslie Mann looked great last night.  Wearing one of spring’s hottest colors- yellow- she looked sunshiney and comfortable in her Naeem Khan gown.  I like her turquoise accessories but would have liked to see her hair a little more polished for the red carpet.  Regardless, this is a perfectly off-beat look that feels bright and refreshingly fun.

Tiny Fey seems to really favor this shape, and though I sometimes feel that it doesn’t always come together as well as it could, I think she looked vivacious in this Vivienne Westwood gown.  Her hair and makeup also look terrific though, again, I’d have recommended a slightly more prominent lip color to make her smile pop.

What were your favorite looks form the Emmys, dear reader?  We’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

