Skip to content

The Transifixing Work of Malcolm Liepke

August 13, 2012

In this digital age of over stimulation, it’s rare to come across an image that holds your attention for more than 30 seconds, but I recently stumbled upon the work of Malcolm Liepke and am completely captivated.  His paintings are evocative yet sweet with a precise rawness that holds the gaze and allows the viewer to emotionally connect with the painting.  The wet-looking lips, the eyes, the sheen of the skin and the texture of the clothes… it’s transfixing and lovely.

The work of John Singer Sargent (who is my personal favorite) is sited as one of his inspirations, along with the work of masters such as Degas and Whistler, and I can certainly see these influences in the coloring and clarity of his own work.  I think Liepke’s paintings are marvelous and I hope you enjoy them, too.  You can see more of Liepke’s work here.

via

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel permalink
    August 14, 2012 14:04

    I compleatly agree about Sargent!

    This is my first time coming across this blog and the first thing that hit me was there was no credit to the article and I really liked it. Obviously I would liked to know whos’ ideas I enjoyed reading.
    Just a comment, still liked the story!
    Daniel

    • August 14, 2012 14:25

      Thank you for reading, Daniel!
      My name is Kate and I manage this blog. I worked for Avanti for many years and now manage some of their branding from abroad (I moved to the UK three months ago). They are super stylin’ rock-stars and I miss them dearly.
      Again, thank you for reading and I’m so pleased that you like Sargent, too! His work makes my heart ache in the best way possible….

      Wishing you all the best,
      Kate
      (You can find my personal blog here: http://ladykatherinesims.blogspot.co.uk/)

Leave a Reply

