Skip to content

I’ve Been Dreading to Tell You…

July 12, 2012

I just can’t get behind dreadlocks.  I like pretty, soft, bouncy, clean hair, and the idea of dreads is just a little too… well, just a little too bohemian for me.  Don’t get me wrong, there are people that are perfectly suited for dreadlocks, who have the je ne sais quois to pull them off, but for me I’ve never really fallen for them.

That being said, I was perusing through some fashion archives and was struck by how much I liked these looks from Chanel’s Pre-Fall 2012 show (I know it’s kinda old news, but seriously new news to me!) and I wanted to share a couple looks with you here.  I thought some of the headpieces looked a little heavy and lopsided, but I generally liked them and I really liked (much to my surprise) the faux dreads that so many of the female models wore.  They were ethereal and edgy, crazy but pretty, birdsnesty but sweet…   With a little brushing, those babies would come out, no problem and I thought it was a great look for a high fashion shoot or a fun party.  (The faux dreads also harken back to Eliza Dushku‘s hair in Bring It On… Yes, I just referenced Bring It On…)

I also really love the way that men have those luxurious scarves tied!  I think it would be a super cute summer look for ladies to adapt, too! Especially with the broaches pinned on the side like that…

And that blue dress could literally solve all my problems.  I’m usually not into the sheer-skirt look, but Chanel has made me re-think a lot with this presentation (not just sheer skirts and dreadlocks, but also the chicness of flats on the runway).  Well done, Lagerfeld, well done!

Photos sourced here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

