Skip to content

Debunking the Myth of the Wash-and-Wear Haircut

May 30, 2012

It’s now time for our next installment in 11 Things Your Hairdresser Really Wants You To Know… and though this one is a bummer, it’s totally true and the sooner you come to terms with it, the sooner you (and your hair) can move forward to a better place.

Clients come in all the time and, during their haircut consultation, say something along the lines of, “So, I want to keep my length, but I want lots of fun layers, and I’m suuuuuuupper busy so I never have time to do anything to my hair, so I need a cut that can just air dry and still look super great.  You know, something easy!”  But you guys, there is no such thing as a wash-and-wear haircut. Unless you have the most magical, beautiful hair on planet earth, you’re going to have to put some effort in if you want your hair to look good*.

You see, for years I’ve had the luxury of working in a salon with some of the most talented stylists in Boston.  I had a giant table of products at my disposal to make sure my hair was always perfectly coiffed, and on days when I was running a little bit late or was too lazy to hold my two arms above my head and actually style myownhair, I could usually make puppy-dog eyes and have one of my stylist friends do it for me.  Those were the glory days, folks!

Now, don’t get me wrong, I value looking like a normal human being, so I oftentimes actually put effort into doing my hair.  I wash it regularly (but not too regularly) and I use the right products to make sure it’s shiny and every strand is in place.  I regularly do at-home conditioning treatments to keep it shiny and healthy (more on that in another post!), and I also blow it out like a good girl and sometimes even flat iron it if I’m feeling fancy.  I’m lucky because my hair is relatively straight and manageable so from beginning to end this process (usually) only takes about 15 minutes and the results are consistently terrific.

For some of you, this process may sound familiar (and lucky you!), but for a lot of ladies, it takes a long time to get your hair to a happy place.  For ladies in this latter category, I’m sorry to say that no stylist, no matter how amazing, is ever going to cut your hair so it lays perfect without you ever having to lift a finger.  A good cut with certainly allow it to look better than a bad one, but no hair cut will solve all of your hair problems (that weird wave that you get, unless you cut it off, it’s not going anywhere).  Styling tools and products were made for a reason, and if you really want to look terrific, you’re going to have to put some time in.  (Have I mentioned that this is a cruel cruel world?)

I’m so sorry if that sounded stern… I really didn’t mean to dash all your hair hopes and dreams, but I just wanted you to know the truth.  Especially seeing as summer humidity is upon us and, if it hasn’t already, your hair is going to start freaking out real soon.  But there is a solution (yay!): if you are feeling a little lost in the haircare department, please don’t hesitate to stop in the salon and ask a stylist what products and tools will work best for your style and hair type.  If you feel like you might need a little more coaching than that, come in for a Blowdry Lesson**.  Remember, a little work can go a long, long way.

xox

*If you really don’t care about your hair looking good on a regular basis, great!  We’ll still give you an awesome haircut, but you’ll just have to deal with it looking kind of flat and fuzzy most of the time…

**Blowdry Lessons are hour-long, hands-on, one-on-one sessions that will teach you the best way to make the most of your tools, your style, and your time.  Bring in the tools you have (brushes, Velcro rollers, hair dryers, etc.) and let us show you how to optimize what you have to ensure you’re always super stylin’.  Prices vary depending on the stylist you see.

For more Things Your Hairdresser Really Wants You To Know, click here and here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    May 30, 2012 15:30

    I’d have to amend that to say that you can get pretty darn close with an adorable pixie haircut from Janida at Avanti! This cut is certainly the closest I’ve ever come to “wash and wear” in my life. Of course a little effort and some styling products make it look simply fantastic, but it is still awfully cute without even trying 🙂

    • May 30, 2012 15:38

      Ahhh, good point! Pixies are the closest you’ll get to wash-and-wear hair, but a little Rene Furterer Spray Gloss and Modeling Paste sure do go a long way! And there’s nothing like a good hair tousling (which always makes me think of Hugh Grant in About a Boy… haha!).
      Thanks for reading, and thanks for your comment, Lindsey! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

