Skip to content

Outtakes, Part 1

May 29, 2012

One thing that I love about our staff is how much FUN we have.  Whether we’re styling for a shoot, catching up with a long-time client, or consulting with someone for the very first time, one thing that always seems to shine through is how much we enjoy our job, and how much we enjoy being together.

A couple weeks ago, we organized a shoot to update our staff photos.  The pictures have yet to be posted on the site (the grand unveil will happen closer to the time of our exciting relocation) and are burning a hole in my image folder as they anxiously wait to be shared, so over the next week or so I’m going to leak some outtakes to you.  The entire shoot had me (the photographer) in stitches, and I had such a great time capturing the smiles, smirks and sexy faces (Rob, I’m looking at you!) that these lovely men and women were sporting on picture day.  Also, because I now live abroad and am missing my Avanti friends so so much, I wanted to share some of my favorite things about these wonderful people with you.  So, without further ado…

Laura Kuhns: Laura and I started working at Avanti around the same time, in late 2006 (can you believe it’s been that long, Laura?!).  It’s been such a pleasure to grow alongside her over the last six years, and I’m so fortunate to have seen her blossom into a truly talented stylist.  Her skill-set is diverse, her clients adore her, and she gives one hell of a blowout.  AND she’s totally gorgeous- just look at that smile!

Rob Martelli: Oh, Rob.  He’s like the perfect combination of your super saucy best friend, a diva mega-star, and a creative genius.  Hair, makeup, extensions, and Whitney Houston renditions… Rob’s the full package!

Sandra Curzi: Sweet, amazing, lovely, Sandra!  Our resident aesthetician spear-headed the skincare industry in Boston (ask her all about it, her story is fascinating!).  Not only does she give the best facial in Boston (she’s won the award twice), but she is a fountain of knowledge about everything skin related.  I could really use Sandra over here in the UK right now…  my mustachio is growing wildly out of control!

James Peltier:  James is a silent killer…  by silent I mean he is quiet, and by killer I mean your hair will make people combust with jealousy after he’s finished with it.  I’ve literally watched this man cut hair with my mouth hanging open, his work is that impressive.  He’s a perfectionist with a keen eye for detail and he won’t let you out of his sight until your hair is perfect.

So those are four of my dear Avanti friends.  More outtakes a write-ups soon to come!  Until then, have a beautiful Tuesday!  xxx

Leave a Reply

