Skip to content

Beauty Doctor: Dakota Fanning

April 26, 2012

We’re starting a new feature here on the beauty blog called Beauty Doctor.  In these features we will diagnose a particular celebrity’s hair ailments and then prescribe some solutions.  As you know, it is our goal at Avanti to help make this world a more beautiful place, one head of hair at a time and today we’re going to help super-sweet Dakota Fanning with her depressing hair.  Let’s begin, shall we…

I really like this little lady and all the terrible tings that I am about to say about her hair are said with love.  Love and guidance.  I mean it, Dakota, I really do…

Dakota Fanning attends the 11th Annual Tribeca Film Festival Vanity Fair Party in a super-cute Lanvin dress and a not-so-cute head decoration.

Let’s start this session with something nice to say about our first patient: I loveDakota’s natural, pale skin.  It is beautiful and bold, and in a world of overly-bronzed celebrities, it’s refreshing to see someone so young taking such good care of their skin.

Now for the not-so-nice: THIS HAIR COLOR LOOKS TERRIBLE WITH HER SKIN TONE.  It is yellow and reminds me very much of melted butter. It also fails to blend well with her natural root and eyebrow color.

I’ve done my research and I know that both ashy platinum and truly golden blondes are both good for Dakota’s skin tone, and I advise her to decide on one or the other immediately.  I would personally like to see her go v. blonde, a la Tilda Swinton when she’s doing that intentional monochromatic thing with her platinum blonde hair and pale skin, but I would happily endorse a decision to warm-up  her color with some beautiful honey and slightly strawberry blonde tones foiled through.  And while we’re at it, let’s brighten up those eyebrows, girl!

Additionally, I would like to say that Dakota would look amazing with a light reddish-brown color, but I think her hair journey will be one down the path of the blondes for many years to come.  But please,  for the love of God, Dakota, no more yellow!  

Love,
The Avanti Beauty Doctor

photos via Tom and Lorenzo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 07:23

    hey!… good post.. I have natural yellow hair though…. check my pictures? and let me know if should change my hair and if so, what colours would be better? =) just a thought… there’s a page called photos on my blog.. =D I’d love to know what you think. as I’m thinking of getting a straighter style and maybe some platinum blonde highlights..not sure.. =)

    Xoxo

    • April 26, 2012 07:34

      Thanks for the comment, Fleuropean! Your natural hair color is beautiful and from what I can tell it suits your skin tone very nicely! If you are looking for a change, I would recommend something subtle. Perhaps foil in a sunshiney blonde to brighten it up and add contrast throughout your natural color. But really, your hair is gorgeous and not yellow at all!

      • April 26, 2012 07:39

        thank you! =)

        I am quite keen to try Nice n’ easy’s natural baby blonde in shade 101, or precision in 8n medium natural blonde… originally i was torn between either highlights or going a caramel colour… sort of… dark blonde… =D

Trackbacks

  1. Beauty Doctor: Dakota Fanning UPDATE « Avanti Salon's Hair and Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

