Skip to content

Susan G Komen Training Diary: Part 2

May 23, 2011

The pressure is on, and all of us walking this year’s Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure are starting to realize we really need to start training for our walk in July.  Unfortunately, the weather in Boston hasn’t been too encouraging in recent weeks, and it’s been difficult to muster up the will power to get out and walk under this dreary New England sky.  That being said, I promised myself that I would take a long walk on Sunday, so yesterday morning, I laced up my sneakers (when I wear them, I cannot recognize my bottom half!), and drove to Newport, Rhode Island to walk the Cliff Walk.  The weather was delightful- not too hot, not too cold- and the grey skies were a perfect backdrop for pictures!  Here are some photos from my journey:

Avanti Salon Training Diary

Avanti Salon Training Diary

The entire way,  I was awed by the natural beauty of the Cliff Walk, and overwhelmed by the sound of crashing waves and the salty smell and taste of the ocean.  It was an afternoon of sensory overload and I kept thinking back to novels from the Gilded Age as I passed vacant mansions with sprawling lawns and iron fences.  The wind was strong and salty, and I found myself wishing I had long hair that would whip around my face and get gorgeously knotted and messy in the ocean air.  Perhaps I’m going a bit overboard, but the entire scene was very romantic (with the exception of my sneakers)!

Avanti Salon Training Diary
Avanti Salon Training DiaryI’m a little bit obsessed with this rusty orange color, and the natural teals and purples that I found in the rocks along the water.  Living in the city, it’s so easy to lose touch of the organic colors of the earth, and it’s always so refreshing to take some time to reconnect with the land and draw inspiration for the natural beauty of our world.

In the end, I only walked 7 miles, which is less than half of what I’ll be walking everyday of the 3-Day, but I made good time and felt fresh and nimble the whole way.  Fingers crossed that I’ll feel just as good come July!

Don’t forget- Alex is still donating the proceeds from his haircuts on Tuesdays to our 3-Day Fund!  To schedule an appointment with him, please call 617.267.4027 or visit our website and follow the online booking instructions.
If you’d simply like to donate to our team, you can do so HERE.

Thank you so much for checking in!  XoXo!

all photos by Kate Sims

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

